Security Compliance
How to remove outdated files on your Patch Manager server
This article describes how to use the Cache, Layouts, and Tasks Maintenance window to remove outdated tasks, cache, layouts, and packages from your Patch Manager server.
First published date
Last published date
Overview
This article describes how to save resources on the Patch Manager server.
You can remove outdated Patch Manager files using the Cache, Layouts and Tasks Maintenance window. This window is located at Administration and Reporting > General Settings tab > Clear Caches and View Layouts.
| ITEM | DESCRIPTION |
|---|---|
| Clear Caches | Clears the XML files from the ~\Server\Data folder. Patch Manager generates these files during normal operations, and they consume considerable space over time. |
| Delete Old Tasks | Deletes console-related worker files for old tasks from the server. The Patch Manager stores these files in the local server's ~\EminentWare\Tasks folder. |
| Clear View Layouts | Reverts all custom view layouts in the Patch Manager console to their default configurations. If you want to backup these custom layouts, find them in the~\EminentWare\gridlayout folder. |
| Clear Packages | Deletes console-related worker files for old packages from the server. The Patch Manager stores these files in the local server's ~\EminentWare\Packages folder. |
| Automatic Task Maintenance | Allows you to specify whether you want Patch Manager to automatically delete old tasks after a period of time you specify. |
The default paths for the referenced folders are located at:
- %PROGRAFILES%\SolarWinds\Patch MAnager\Server\Data
- %USERPROFILE%\AppData\Local\EminentWare
Product section
Resolution
This task applies to the local Patch Manager server hosting the console.
To clean up the files on your Patch Manager server:
- Log in to the Patch Manager Administrator Console as Administrator.
- In the navigation pane, select Administration and Reporting
- In the center pane, click General Setting > Clear Caches and View Layouts.
- In the Cache, Layouts and Tasks Maintenance window, click an option to perform a task.
To automatically delete old tasks, select the Delete tasks older than checkbox and select a date value. - Click OK.