Tools

Serv-U File Management Rule

This article demonstrates the way to automatically delete a file from a specific directory path. This will also guide users on how to schedule moving files from one directory path to another.

First published date

5/14/2026 3:36 PM

Last published date

5/14/2026 3:45 PM

Overview

The Serv-U File Management Rule can be used for cleanup. You can configure rules to delete or move aged files. 

Product section

Serv-U Managed File Transfer & Serv-U FTP Server

Resolution

Go to Domain > Directories > File Management tab > Click Add

a. To delete a file(s):

  1. Enter the Directory Path or click browse (yellow folder) 
  2. Choose Delete file(s) after specified time
  3. On Execure action, enter the desired number of days after the file creation (file age)
  4. Check Enable Rule
  5. Click Save

b. To Move File(s)

  1. Enter the Directory Path or click browse (yellow folder) 
  2. Choose Move file(s) after specified time
  3. On Execure action, enter the desired number of days after the file creation (file age)
  4. Check Enable Rule
  5. Click Save

Note: Make sure that the file paths have the right permissions for Serv-U to access and modify. Should be the same as the Serv-U service permission.