Tools
SSL certificate disappears after rebooting a WHD Virtual Appliance
This article describes how to prevent the SSL certificate from disappearing after you reboot a Web Help Desk (WHD) Virtual Appliance.
First published date
Last published date
Overview
When the Web Help Desk virtual appliance server reboots, the SSL certificate is lost and Web Help Desk will create a new keystore.jks file with a self-signed SSL certificate with a Common Name of 'Unknown' or the FQDN of the server.
Product section
Cause
The #check_cert parameter is enabled in the /opt/vmware/etc/isv/subsequentboot file.
Resolution
1. Edit the /opt/vmware/etc/isv/subsequentboot file and comment out the 'check_cert' parameter.
- Log in to the virtual appliance server through a terminal as root
- Edit the /opt/vmware/etc/isv/subsequentboot file by running command:
vi /opt/vmware/etc/isv/subsequentboot- Press the 'A' key on your keyboard to enter the edit mode
- Look for the line: check_cert at the bottom of the document
- Change it to #check_cert
- Save the file pressing SHIFT + ZZ (two 'z' keys) or key combination wq! alternatively to save and quit from the Vi/ViM.
2. Once this is done, restore a working backup copy of the keystore.jks file into the /usr/local/webhelpdesk/conf folder
3. Restart the Web Help Desk service by running these commands:
- Stop the Web Help Desk service
service webhelpdesk stop or sudo service webhelpdesk stop- Start the Web Help Desk service
service webhelpdesk start or sudo service webhelpdesk start
4. Once the Web Help Desk service is restarted, access the Web Help Desk page and it should show the correct SSL certificate.
Disclaimer: Please note, any content posted herein is provided as a suggestion or recommendation to you for your internal use. This is not part of the SolarWinds software or documentation that you purchased from SolarWinds, and the information set forth herein may come from third parties. Your organization should internally review and assess to what extent, if any, such custom scripts or recommendations will be incorporated into your environment. You elect to use third party content at your own risk, and you will be solely responsible for the incorporation of the same, if any.