Network Management

NCM job is expected to download configs only if a change is detected, but it downloads configs even if no change is detected

When the job runs and a change is found, NCM downloads and saves the configuration file. The next time the job runs, even though there is not another change, a new configuration is downloaded and saved. During subsequent runs of the job, when there is no change, the configuration is not saved. NCM downloads one extra configuration each time there is a change.

First published date

11/8/2018 12:39 PM

Last published date

11/8/2018 12:39 PM

Overview

When the job runs and a change is found, NCM downloads and saves the configuration file. The next time the job runs, even though there is not another change, a new configuration is downloaded and saved. During subsequent runs of the job, when there is no change, the configuration is not saved. NCM downloads one extra configuration each time there is a change.

Product section

Network Configuration Manager

Resolution

NCM behavior is as follows:

  1. Once a change is detected, NCM will download a new config, since it differs than the one before.
  2. The next time the job runs, NCM downloads the config again and saves it to the database, even though a change has not been detected. (A difference is not noted in the last XX changes.) 
  3. The following downloads will honor the expected behavior of the job until a real difference is detected.

 

The reason for the one additional config being downloaded is so the Charts on NCM do not always show conflicts, where there really are none on the devices. 

This is expected behavior and is by design. This behavior was implemented because the charts were showing conflicts because the user was only saving configs for devices that were different.