Tools

How to set up Technical Agent Access Permission Group in DRE

This article is to discuss the use of Permission Group in Dameware Remote Everywhere when creating a Technician or Technical Agent and granting or limiting its access within the DRE Web Admin Area.

First published date

4/10/2019 2:32 PM

Last published date

3/6/2023 1:47 PM

Overview

Each Technician can be limited or granted tasks within the DRE Web Access Page.
By the use of the "Permission Group" for each technician/user created, granting and limiting their access is much faster instead of manually defining accessibility. This feature already exists in the previous version of DRE UI but has been maximized in the new version.
Every time a Technician/User is created, you can select an existing Permission Group for faster modification of the created account's accessibility to the DRE Web Access Page.
It is also possible to create a new one for future use.

  • Limit which Agents a Technician has access to
  • Setup a Technician's permissions to create/delete/move Agents
  • Setup a Technician's permissions to create/delete/move Agent Groups

Product section

Dameware Remote Everywhere

Cause

NA

Resolution

To Create an Account then Use an Existing Permission Group
  1. Login to your Admin Area.
    • Please ensure you log in with sufficient privileges (using the Main Admin login is preferred).
  2. Navigate to Management > Technicians > Technician's Tab.
  3. Click the Add Button.
  4. Inpu the Name and Email of the Account you will create
  5. Select a Permission Group from the Drop Down
  6. Add Technician to finish
To Change an existing Account's Permission Group
  1. Login to your Admin Area.
    • Please ensure you log in with sufficient privileges (using the Main Admin login is preferred).
  2. Navigate to Management > Technicians > Technician's Tab.
  3. Select the Technician/User
  4. Click the "More Settings"(three-dot) icon and select "Change Permission Group"
  5. Select the Permission group from the drop-down
  6. Click Moved.
  7. Relog-in to the DRE Web Page and DRE Console for the permission to take effect.
To Add a new Permission Group
  1. Login to your Admin Area.
    • Please ensure you log in with sufficient privileges (using the Main Admin login is preferred).
  2. Navigate to Management > Technicians > Permissions Groups Tab
  3. Click the "Add Button"
  4. Select the Based on Permissions Group the Next
  5. Configure all the Settings
  6. Click Save Permission Group to Finish
To Edit/Update Permission Group
  1. Login to your Admin Area.
    • Please ensure you log in with sufficient privileges (using the Main Admin login is preferred).
  2. Navigate to Management > Technicians > Permissions Groups Tab
  3. Select/Check the Permission Group
  4. On the right Right Menu's Details Tab, select the "Edit Group"
    • Or Click the "More Settings"(three-dot) icon and select "Edit Permission"
  5. Edit as needed and click Save.
To Delete Permission Group
***Make sure to no user has this Permission Group before deleting.***
  1. Login to your Admin Area.
    • Please ensure you log in with sufficient privileges (using the Main Admin login is preferred).
  2. Navigate to Management > Technicians > Permissions Groups Tab
  3. Select/Check the Permission Group
  4. On the right Right Menu's Details Tab, select the "Delete Group"
    • Or Click the "More Settings"(three-dot) icon and select "Delete Permission Group"
  5. Select "Delete Permission Group" to finalize deletion.

For reference on the et the options for My Computers Management:
  •  Allow members access Devices: Enable/Disable access to the My Computers tab (and all access to Agents);
  • Members can edit Device/Group customer details: Enable/Disable the Technician from being able to edit Agent Customer details (Name, Email, Customer Number, Description, etc.).
  • Add: Enable/Disable the Technician from creating new Agent Installers/New Computer Groups.
  • Delete: Enable/Disable the Technician from uninstalling Agents/deleting Computer Groups.
  • Move: Enable/Disable the Technician from moving Agents/Groups.
  • Edit: Enable/Disable the Technician from renaming Agents/Groups.
  • Select Group access: Select which Groups of Agents the Technician will be able to access.
    • The Technician will ALWAYS be able to access Agents without Groups (in the ./root group) as long as they have Access to My Computers enabled.
  • Save when done.
  • The Technician will need to login to the Console after these changes are made to pickup the new settings.