Tools
How to roll back to a previous version after upgrading Serv-U MFT
This article describes the steps to roll back to a previous version of Serv-U MFT after an upgrade when a server snapshot is unavailable.
First published date
Last published date
Overview
Product section
Cause
None
Resolution
In preparation for the roll back:
Obtain a copy of the folders below from a current or previous Serv-U installation
- C:\ProgramData\RhinoSoft\Serv-U (Folder is Hidden in Windows by default)
- C:\Program Files\RhinoSoft\Serv-U
- Linux - /usr/local/Serv-U
If using FTPS, HTTPS, or SFTP you will need to back up the additional key and cert files. The paths where these files are saved can be found in:
- Serv-U Management Console > Go to Global > Limits & Settings . Encryption tab
- Serv-U Management Console > Go to Domains > Limits & Settings . Encryption tab
- Any file ending with .crt
- Any file ending with .pem
- Any file ending with .key
Roll back procedure
1. Uninstall the Serv-U application
2. Install the previous version you wish to roll back to
- Access the downloaded zip file for the installer and make sure to extract the contents.
- Right-click the Serv-U MFT 15.4.x installer and select Properties.
- Click "Unblock" if available.
- Right-click the Serv-U MFT 15.4.x installer again, and then run the installer as an administrator.
- Complete the installation wizard.
License related issues during or after upgrade:
If there is a message about an Invalid Registration ID while running the Serv-U installer, click NEXT and proceed with completing the upgrade.
3. After completing the Serv-U installation, close the management console and stop the Serv-U service
4. Go to C:\ProgramData\RhinoSoft\Serv-U. Delete the Serv-U.Archive and Serv-U.Archive.Backup files
5. Copy the Serv-U.Archive file, Users folder, Shares folder (if any) and Serv-UID.txt file from your back up of ProgramData/Rhinosoft/Serv-U and paste them inside the current C:\ProgramData\RhinoSoft\Serv-U folder
5.b. If you are reverting back to an older version coming from version 15.3.2, edit the Serv-U.Archive first and remove the Server Identity entry. Remove the Server Identity information starting from the colon.
6. Start the Serv-U service
Note: If there is a need to upgrade after rolling back the Serv-U version, follow the instructions from this article .