Tools

How to limit a Serv-U User to access Serv-U File Sharing Only

Steps for limiting a Serv-U user to access only Serv-U file sharing.

First published date

4/29/2019 5:58 PM

Last published date

9/25/2026 1:59 PM

Overview

This article describes how to limit a Serv-U User to access Serv-U File Sharing Only.

Product section

Serv-U Managed File Transfer & Serv-U FTP Server

Resolution

1 Log in to the Serv-U Administrator Console.

2. Go to the domain where the user belongs.

3. Go to Users and select the user that you want to modify.

4. Under User Properties, go to the Limits & Settings tab.

5. Set the Limit Type to HTTP.

6. Click the Add button found on the lower part of the screen.

7. Select the Limit:   Allow users to use Web Client.

 

8. Untick the checkbox for "Allow users to use Web Client."

9. Click Save.

 

Note: You will notice the difference of the highlight color. The ones highlighted in Light Blue are the default Limits and the ones in White are the Limits that you have created. Serv-U will then follow the limits that you have created over the default ones.