Tools
How to Delete an Agent or Device Group for DRE
First published date
4/10/2019 9:09 PM
Last published date
4/10/2019 9:09 PM
Overview
- A group was incorrectly added to my My Computers list, how can I remove it?
- I'd like to delete a group and all Agents within it, how can I?
- I want to delete a group and keep all the Agents within it, how can I?
Product section
Dameware Remote Everywhere
Resolution
- If you wish to delete an Agent group, you can do so through either the Tech Console or the Admin Area:
- Deleting a Group through the Tech Console:
- Open your SolarWinds Take Control Tech Console;
- Login with your Technician credentials;
- Note that the Technician will need to have permissions to view and delete Agent groups!
- Select the MY COMPUTERS tab;
- Right click on the group you wish to delete;
- Select Delete (or use the hotkey combination: Ctrl+D).
- You'll receive a prompt asking you to confirm your decision, please review it carefully.
- Note that you cannot delete groups through the console unless they're empty.
- Deleting a Group through the Admin Area:
- Login to your Admin Area with your Admin credentials;
- Note that the Admin will need to have permissions to view and delete Agent groups!
- Go to Devices (on the left-hand pane);
- Select the Group you intend to delete form the group list on the left-hand side;
- Click on the Group Delete button near the top center-right of the page;
- Note that there are two Delete buttons, one for groups and another for devices - please select the Group Delete button (first one counting from the left).
- You'll receive a prompt stating what should be done with both Subgroups and Devices, each with three options:
- Move Up (default option): This option will make it so the subgroups/devices within the deleted group are moved up a level from the current group. If you were to select this option when deleting a subgroup, the subgroup/devices within it would move to the parent group where the deleted subgroup was contained, if the level above the deleted group is the Root level, this option behaves like Move to Root;
- Move to Root: This option will make it so the subgroups/devices within the deleted group are moved to the Root level. Please note that devices moved to Root will be visible to all Technicians that have permissions to view the My Computers tab;
- Delete: This option will make it so the subgroups/devices within the deleted group are also deleted, uninstalling all the Agents within it - please note that this action is not reversible!
- If the Tech is not able to delete a Group, please verify his Permissions on the Admin Area:
- Login to your Admin Area ;
- Go to Management > Technicians;
- Select the relevant Technician's Profile from the list;
- Select the PERMISSIONS tab;
- Under My Computers Management enable the Delete option for Computer Groups;
- Note that there will be two Delete options available, one for groups and one for devices, be sure to enable either as intended.
- Save the profile when done (lower right corner).