Applications Systems

Downgrade DPA to the correctly licensed version

You may need to downgrade your current version of DPA to comply with your correct software license version and maintenance agreement.

First published date

10/16/2018 1:21 PM

Last published date

1/29/2025 11:53 PM

Overview

Downgrading involves uninstalling the latest version of DPA and re-installing your previous version.
The DPA repository must be restored to a point in time that was before the upgrade. 

Product section

Database Performance Analyzer

Cause

Should you wish to roll back a DPA upgrade, the version that was installed previously would be required as well as a restore of the DPA repository database from a backup that was taken prior to the upgrade. 

Resolution

The first steps in a rollback would be to restore a backup of the repository database to a point in time before the upgrade. 

DPA on start up and successful connection to any repository checks first the RepoVersion artifact found in the table CON_VERSION. If the DPA application is higher then the released the repository is upgraded and any table changes for the later lease are applied. 

For this reason the first step in a roll back is to get the repository database to a state that it was in before the upgrade. After this is finished the application server can be set to run the DPA application that was of the same version as was previously installed. 

On a DPA Linux install because the installer simply writes the new DPA files to a new version path you can usually just start up the old DPA install in it's path after the repository database is restored from backup. Simply run ./shutdown.sh on the new install and then run ./startup.sh in the older or original DPA path after restoring the repository. 

On a Windows install of DPA upgrades replace the file of the application for DPA with the new version so for this reason it is required to uninstall and reinstall the older or original DPA release. 

Before uninstalling DPA backup a few key directories for the licensing and configuration files. 
The Default path on windows install is C:\Program Files\Solarwinds\DPA\iwc\tomcat\ and the key directories to save are 
C:\Program Files\Solarwinds\DPA\iwc\tomcat\licensing
C:\Program Files\Solarwinds\DPA\iwc\tomcat\conf
and 
C:\Program Files\Solarwinds\DPA\iwc\tomcat\ignite_config
Your path to these files might not be the same and can be found by finding the service "Ignite PI Server" in the windows services menu. Right click it and click on Properties. View the "path to executable" this should show the path of install pointing to some path ending in tomcat\bin. 

Uninstall every version of DPA and Ignite:
Open Control Panel > Programs and Features.
Uninstall each entry for DPA and Ignite that you see listed.
Install the version of DPA (or Ignite) that you had running prior to your latest upgrade (i.e. the "previous version" stated above).  
As usual, make sure you install to the same directory that you had installed to previously. 
The key files mentioned above should be left behind by the uninstall. Check that this is the case as they are not always left depending on windows version. 

Reinstall DPA on the older release
Stop the service "ignite PI Server" 
If the files were missing replace them from the backup you created of the key directories putting them in the required path again. Run the batch files in the DPA_home folder that are called removeWindowsService.bat and then run CreateWindowsService.bat. 

This is required and listed as a step in case DPA heap memory is set to any value that wasn't default in the replaced ignite_config\idc\server.properties file.