Applications Systems
Database activation and deactivation in DB2
This article provides information on database activation and deactivation in Database 2 (DB2).
First published date
Last published date
Overview
Product section
Resolution
DPA uses DB Snapshot Monitor to retrieve information about the database. The Snapshot Monitor contains data obtained from the system monitor. According to the DB2 documentation:
The system monitor accumulates information for a database only while it is active. If all applications disconnect from a database and the database deactivates, then the system monitor data for that database is no longer available. You can keep the database active until your final snapshot has been taken, either by starting the database with the ACTIVATE DATABASE command, or by maintaining a permanent connection to the database.
If a database deactivates and the system monitor is no longer available, DPA is unable to accurately determine statistics for that DB2 database. The following error appears when DPA has detected one or more databases deactivated:
These statistics may be inaccurate as this DB2 instance has databases that have been deactivated.
(© 2018 IBM Corporation, available at https://www.ibm.com/support/knowledgecenter/en/SSEPGG_9.5.0/com.ibm.db2.luw.admin.mon.doc/doc/c0006003.html, obtained on November 21, 2018).
If you would like to reset the list of deactivated databases that Ignite has detected, you can run the following delete command:
delete from CON_MSSQL_DB
where COND_ID = (select ID
from COND
where NAME = 'name'
and DB_TYPE = 'DB2')
Disclaimer: Please note, any content posted here is provided as a suggestion or recommendation to you for your internal use. This is not part of the SolarWinds software or documentation that you purchased from SolarWinds, and the information set forth herein may come from third parties. Your organization should internally review and assess to what extent, if any, such custom scripts or recommendations will be incorporated into your environment. You elect to use third party content at your own risk, and you will be solely responsible for the incorporation of the same, if any.