Tools

DRE technician username already in use

This article details an issue when an admin is trying to register a new technician and getting the error “technician name already use”

First published date

4/9/2019 8:02 PM

Last published date

1/17/2020 5:23 PM

Overview

When attempting to create or alter an existing Technician for DRE, it prompted with an error that the Technician's username (email) is already in use. The username should be unique across all accounts in DRE, it means all accounts in DRE. Accounts represent companies/organizations and logins represent technicians under those accounts.

Product section

Dameware Remote Everywhere

Cause

The technician email address is already used before on a trial or registered on another account in DRE.

Resolution

  • Technician in your Account: The technician may already exist in your Technician's list.
    1. Login to your Admin Area.
    2. Go to Management.
    3. Click on Technicians.
    4. Use the Search Bar above the Technician's List.
    5. Write the Technician's Name (partial names work, searching for "An" will reveal all "Andrews", "Annas", etc. You may also insert a Space and all disabled technicians should popup in bright red letters).
    6. Select the Technician's profile (disabled profiles are in bright red letters).
    7. You may now edit that profile as intended or check the box Enable to enable the Tech again.
    8. Save when done.
  • Disabled Technician in your Account: Disabled Technicians are, by default, hidden from the default Technician list - which may lead you to believe you'll need to create a new profile for that same technician.
    1. Login to your Admin Area.
    2. Go to Management.
    3. Click on Technicians.
    4. Select the Filter button to the right of the search bar above the Technicians' list.
    5. Enable the options for "Disabled" and "Expired" to show all technicians.
    6. Write the Technician's Name (partial names works, searching for "An" will reveal all "Andrews", "Annas", etc. You may also insert a Space and all disabled technicians should display with grayed-out names).
    7. Select the Technician's profile (disabled profiles are in bright red letters).
    8. Check the box Enable.
    9. Save when done;
    10. The profile is now available and your technician may log in.
  • Technician in your other Account: You may have recently changed from an older account and left the technician's username in use on a profile in said older account - If you're still able to log in to the older account, please perform the following steps:
    1. Log in to the Admin Area (with your old account's credentials).
    2. Go to Management.
    3.  Click on Technicians.
    4. Use the Search Bar above Technician's List.
    5. Select the Technician's profile (the technician may or may not be disabled. Disabled profiles are in bright red letters when you search for them on the Search Bar).
    6. Change the Technician's username (email) - for example: changing tech@mail.com to tech_removed@mail.com.
    7. Save when done.
    8. You may now use the Technician's Username on your new account.
    • Note that this method is only viable for Technicians that have yet to associate their login with SolarWinds SSO, if the expired account's technician login is already associated with SolarWinds SSO, you will not be able to change the e-mail address and will need to contact Support.
  • The Username belongs to a technician in another account: Your technician's username is in use on another account, such as a former trial.
    • For this specific scenario, you'll need to contact Support in order to review if it is possible to liberate the username.
  • While searching in the Admin Area for technicians, please review your screen resolution and browser zoom/visual settings as low resolutions or high zoom can cause visual elements of the Admin Area to overlap, resulting in hidden search results.
  • If these procedures do not resolve the issue, take note of the technician's email address that doesn't register, please contact Dameware Remote Everywhere support and then request to rename/remove the email address on our database.