Submit a ticketCall us

Looking to compare latest NPM features with previous versions of NPM?
The NPM new feature summary offers a comparison of new features and improvements offered with this release.

 

Home > Success Center > Web Performance Monitor (WPM) > Web Performance Monitor Administrator Guide > The Appstack Environment > Understanding AppStack > Understanding layouts

Understanding layouts

Table of contents
No headers

A Layout is a user-defined filter (view-limitation), along with settings, that can be saved and recalled later within the AppStack Environment view. User-defined layouts can be used to tailor the AppStack Environment view to specific objects of interest. A default layout is provided and contains all objects visible in the AppStack Environment that is currently being monitored. The default layout cannot be modified.

New layouts are created by first filtering your environment, and then saving the changes via the Save As New Layout action in the Layout menu.

For example, to create a Layout where only IIS objects in the AppStack Environment view are shown, add the IIS filter property, apply the filter, and then save it as a new layout, naming the layout appropriately.

File:Success_Center/New_Articles/WPM-MT/070/030/070/samagapplayout_634x338.png

Once saved, the layout is added to the drop down menu, allowing you to easily navigate to that layout with its defined filter and settings. The dot to the left of the name of the layout in the menu represents the layout currently in use, as shown:

File:Success_Center/New_Articles/WPM-MT/070/030/070/SAMAGApp3_629x219.png

Modifying Filter Properties of a Saved Layout

To change the filtering properties of the current layout, take the following steps:

  1. Make changes to the filter.
  2. Click Apply Filter, and then click Save (or Save as New Layout...) in the drop down menu.

Modifying Settings of a Saved Layout

To change the settings of the current layout, take the following steps:

  1. Click Change Layout Settings from the drop down menu.
  2. Click Save (or Save as New Layout...).

Deleting a Saved Layout

To delete a layout, take the following steps:

  1. Select the layout from the drop down menu and then click Delete this Layout.

For more information, see Customizing the AppStack Environment View

Last modified
15:13, 18 Jul 2016

Tags

Classifications

Public