Submit a ticketCall us

Get a crash course on Network Monitoring delivered right to your inbox
This free 7-day email course provides a primer to the philosophy, theory, and fundamental concepts involved in IT monitoring. Lessons will explain not only how to perform various monitoring tasks, but why and when you should use them. Sign up now.

Home > Success Center > Web Help Desk (WHD) > Web Help Desk Getting Started Guide > Tech training > Update and resolve tickets

Update and resolve tickets

Created by Melanie Boyd, last modified by Melanie Boyd on Oct 11, 2016

Views: 57 Votes: 0 Revisions: 9

This section of the Web Help Desk tech training describes how to update ticket information, perform actions on multiple tickets, and resolve tickets. Use this material as it is, or copy and revise it to reflect your organization's practices and Web Help Desk configuration.

Ticket information

Tickets in Web Help Desk include information on the following tabs:

  • The Client Info tab identifies the client who requested support. This information is populated automatically from the client account.
  • The Asset Info tab identifies assets (PCs or servers, for example) that are associated with the client or with the support request.
  • The Ticket Details tab contains specific information about this request, incident, or problem. This is the tab that techs update to add notes or change the status.
  • The Parts and Billing tab identifies parts ordered to complete this request and information about billing for the part.

Edit a ticket from the Web console

As you work to resolve a ticket, update the ticket frequently so your activity can be tracked. For example, add notes to record activities, track progress, and document the resolution.

  1. Search for the ticket you want to edit, or locate it in your
  2. Click the ticket number to open it.

    The Ticket Details tab is displayed.

  3. Add or update ticket information. The following table describes some of the fields you might need to update.
    Ticket Type

    Most tickets are classified as service requests. A service request is a request for information, assistance, or repairs. Examples include requests to reset a password, requests for access to a shared network resource, or requests to fix a computer problem.

    Use problem and incident tickets to link multiple tickets that report the same problem to the root cause of the problem.

    • Problem tickets describe the root cause of a general problem. For example, if the email system stops working, a problem ticket tracks the effort to resolve the problem with the email system.
    • Incident tickets report incidents of the problem. For example, while the email system is down, multiple clients will create tickets to report that they cannot send or receive email. When you classify these as incidents, you can link them to the problem ticket. The problem ticket is the parent and incident tickets are children. When the problem ticket is closed, all linked incident tickets are also closed.
    Request Type Select the request type that accurately reflects the type of ticket. The ticket is transferred to the tech group that services the request type you selected. Add a note to explain the reason you changed the request type.
    Notes

    Add notes to record all actions you take to resolve the issue and any information that you gather. You can also use notes to update clients on your progress. To add a note:

    1. Click the green + button.
    2. Enter the note text and attach any associated documents.
    3. If an FAQ in Web Help Desk describes the resolution, click Link FAQ and select the FAQ.
    4. If the note is an internal note to other techs, clear Visible to Client.
    5. Enter your work time.
    6. Click Save.
    Priority

    The priority determines the ticket's due date, and should reflect the severity of the issue and the people or business functions affected.

    • Urgent: A failure that severely impacts critical operations.

    • High: An issue that degrades response times or affects normal operations.

    • Medium: An issue that affects a small number of users or an individual user. A??work-around is available.

    • Low: Questions or requests for information.

    Status Update the Status field to cancel, reopen, or resolve tickets. See Resolving a ticket for more information.
  4. Click one of the following buttons:
    • Save: Saves the ticket.
    • Save and Send E-Mail: Saves the ticket and sends an email to the specified recipients.
  5. To return to the ticket queue, click the back arrow File:Success_Center_V2/Web_Help_Desk_(WHD)/WHD_Admin_MT/0A0/0F0/WHD-TechTraining-BackArrow_18x18.png in the upper-left corner.

Update tickets using email

When a ticket is assigned to you, Web Help Desk sends you an email. You can update the ticket by responding to the email.

  1. In the Notes section, select the action you want to perform. You can add a note, add a hidden note, or delete the ticket.
  2. Hold down the Control key and click the ticket number.

    Web Help Desk creates an email similar to the following example. In this example, the tech chose to add a note that is visible to the client.

  3. Verify the options listed in the subject line.
    • The Action is based on the action you selected. For example, if you select Add Note, the action in the Subject is TechUpdate.
    • The EmailClient option defaults to YES. Enter NO if you do not want to email the client. (This option is not case-sensitive.)
  4. Enter your note as the body of the email and send the email.

Perform actions on multiple tickets

Use bulk actions to apply a set of changes to multiple tickets at once. For example, you can use a bulk action to escalate all open, unassigned, urgent priority IT requests for laptop repairs.

Create a new bulk action

Before you can apply a bulk action, you must create the bulk action that defines what change will be made to the ticket. After you create a bulk action, you can apply it at any time. You can also share the bulk action so that other techs can apply it.

  1. In the toolbar, click Tickets.
  2. In the menu bar, select a ticket screen.
  3. Scroll to the bottom of the screen and locate the Bulk Action box.
  4. Click the + button next to Bulk Action.
  5. On the Bulk Action Details screen, specify values in the fields that you want the bulk action to change. Leave all other fields blank.
  6. In the Save Bulk Action as field, enter a name for this bulk action.
  7. (Optional) Select Shared to share this bulk action with other users.
  8. Click Save.

    The saved bulk action will be listed in the Bulk Action drop-down menu in the Tickets screen.

Apply a bulk action to a group of tickets

After you create a bulk action, you can apply it to a selected a group of tickets.

  1. In the toolbar, click Tickets.
  2. In the menu bar, select a ticket screen, or select Search Tickets and Search for the tickets you want to change.
  3. Select the tickets that will be affected by the bulk action:
    • To select all tickets on the page, select the check box above the first column.
    • To select individual tickets, select the check box in the first column of each ticket row.
  4. Below the list of tickets, select an option from the Bulk Action drop-down menu.
  5. Click the Run button to apply the bulk action.

    A message summarizes the changes that will be applied to the selected tickets.

  6. Click OK.

    A message confirms that the changes were applied.

Resolve a ticket

When you have completed all activities required to resolve an issue, edit the ticket:

  • Add a note to describe the resolution. Select the Solution check box because this helps other techs when they search for solutions to similar issues.
  • If this resolution would be helpful for other Web Help Desk users, click Create FAQ to create an FAQ based on the ticket note.
  • Change the Status to Resolved.

When you change the status to Resolved, Web Help Desk sends an email to the client asking them to confirm that the issue is resolved.

  • If the client clicks Yes, Web Help Desk changes the Status to Closed.
  • If the client clicks No, Web Help Desk reopens the ticket and notifies you.
  • If the client does not respond within the specified number of days, Web Help Desk changes the Status to Closed.
Last modified
19:06, 10 Oct 2016

Tags

Classifications

Public