Home > Success Center > Web Help Desk (WHD) > Web Help Desk 12.5 Administrator Guide > Set up the application > Define tech permissions

Define tech permissions

Created by Steve.Hawkins, last modified by Anthony.Rinaldi on Jul 18, 2016

Views: 333 Votes: 0 Revisions: 5
 

Permissions determine which tickets techs can access and which actions they can perform. This example creates a new permission set called Senior Tech. Techs with this permission set can edit the Due Date and Request Detail fields on a ticket. They can also edit approved FAQs and approve new FAQs.

If your organization is implementing knowledge centered support, consider including the Approved FAQ Edit permission in the Default tech permission set. Granting this permission allows techs to update or correct FAQs as needed.

Create a new tech permission set

  1. Click Setup and select Techs > Tech Permissions.
  2. Click New.
  3. In the Permissions tab, enter a name to identify the permission.

  4. In Location Permissions, specify whether ticket access is restricted based on the company, location group, or department group a tech is assigned to.

    The tooltips provide more information about each permission.

  5. In Ticket Permissions, define what actions a tech can perform within a ticket.

  6. In Client Permissions, specify whether a tech can edit, delete, import, or download clients.
  7. In Asset Permissions, specify whether a tech can view and edit assets and associated elements.
  8. In Other Permissions, define the options that enable techs to edit locations, manage parts, edit and import FAQs, work with reports and surveys, view hourly billing rates, and create and edit new and existing FAQs for all categories.

    WHD-OB-Permission-FAQ3.png

  9. Click Save.

Assign techs to a tech permission set

After defining the permissions, assign techs to the permission set. Each tech can be assigned to only one permission set. When you assign a tech to a new permission set, the tech is automatically removed from the previous permission set. In the following example, assigning Richard Acevedo to the Senior Tech permission set automatically removes him from the Default permission set.

  1. From the tech permissions page, click the Assigned Techs tab.
  2. Select the techs who will have these permissions.

  3. Click Save.
 
Last modified
20:07, 18 Jul 2016

Tags

Classifications

Public