Submit a ticketCall us

Systems Monitoring for Dummies
Our new eBook will teach you the fundamentals and help you create monitors and alerts that are effective, meaningful, and actionable. Monitoring is more than a checkbox on your to-do list. This free eBook will give you practical advice to help you succeed in all aspects of monitoring – discovery, alerting, remediation, and troubleshooting. Don’t miss out on this indispensable resource for newbies, experienced IT pros, and everyone in between. Register Now.

Home > Success Center > Web Help Desk (WHD) > Set up Web Help Desk permissions - Video

Set up Web Help Desk permissions - Video

Created by Jennifer Kuvlesky, last modified by MindTouch on Jun 23, 2016

Views: 361 Votes: 0 Revisions: 4

Overview

This video (6:23) demonstrates how to adjust user permissions for tech accounts.

Environment

All WHD versions

Related Resources

Getting Started Guide

Video Transcription

In this video, I'll show you how to adjust user permissions for Tech accounts.

For added security, Web Help Desk lets you assign additional permissions to a tech without assigning the tech as an administrator. This provides additional permissions to your techs without granting unlimited access to the application.

To change your permissions, click Setup in the toolbar, click Techs in the left menu, and then select Tech Permissions.

In the Tech Permissions screen, you’ll see a permission called Default. I’ll just click on it to show you the list of permissions or rights we recommend.

You can create your own set of permissions for a group of techs as you see fit. It's best to create permission sets based on the Roles in your organization, defining their permissions based on the minimum access that role requires. For example, you may want your junior techs to add new Assets to your inventory, but only want your senior techs or supervisors to remove assets.

To adjust an existing permission definition, click the permission name.

To create a new permission, click New.

For your convenience, the default set of tech permissions in Web Help Desk are enabled by default. This provides a base template of permissions for a tech that you can adjust to meet your needs.

For this video, I'm going to create a new permission set for a junior tech or intern account and name it “Junior Techs.”

First, we need to consider which tickets these Junior Techs should be allowed to see.

By default, when these techs click on the 'Group Tickets' view under 'Tickets', they'll be able to see all tickets assigned to their Group—for example, all tickets assigned to Facilities or Systems. If they use the Search Tickets function, they can see tickets outside their group.

I don’t want these techs to search for tickets outside their tech group, so I'm going to select "Limit To Assigned Tech Group". Now, the tech won't be able to see or search any tickets outside of their assigned tech group.

I don’t want the techs to change ticket priority. This is something I only want my senior techs to do. So I’ll uncheck “Change Priority

As you can see, techs can set tickets to “Closed” by default.

Since this permission set is for Junior techs, I'd like the client to confirm that their issue is resolved prior to closing. So I'll instruct my junior techs to set the status to “Resolved” if they think the issue is resolved.

Web Help Desk will then send an email to the client to confirm that the issue is resolved. This behavior is configurable for "Resolved" ticket status type.

If the client votes “Yes,” Web Help Desk automatically sets the status to Closed. If the client votes “No,” it re-opens the case. To enforce this, I will uncheck “Close Ticket” permission.

I don’t want a junior tech to create or modify Tasks because tasks are typically used to automate the process of creating new tickets. They usually follow a specific schedule that frequently occurs, such as creating system backups. In this case I'll limit this ability by unchecking “Task Edit.

Now we'll shift the focus to what client permissions these techs should have. Clients are the end users that typically interact with Web Help Desk to submit tickets using the web interface or by email.

Edit Clients is enabled by default, allowing your techs to edit the profile of client accounts. This gives techs the rights to make changes to existing client profiles—for example, to change the client's phone number. By default, techs can't delete clients from the system, or import them into the system. That permission level might be something I assign only to the Supervisor or Group Manager level. The permissions for deleting and Importing clients is a secondary permission. If I don't provide permissions to Edit Client details, I won't have the option to provide permissions for importing or deleting them.

I want this Junior Tech to adjust simple client profile items, so I'll enable “Edit Clients”, but leave the other two boxes unchecked.

 

Next on the list is Asset permissions.

I want the techs to view equipment and asset inventory, so I’ll leave “View Assets” enabled.

Like Edit Clients above, Edit Assets not only allows the tech to edit an asset record, but also reveals other asset permissions when enabled and hides them when disabled. 
Notice that when I uncheck it, the system hides Create Assets, Import Assets, and Delete Assets

Again, I would prefer that only supervisors or group managers can create, delete or import assets into the system, so I will leave these three permissions unchecked.

Under Other Permissions, I disabled Location Edit and Department Edit. Leaving them enabled would have allowed them to edit Locations and Departments, as well as view the corresponding groups.

 

When an FAQ is created in Web Help Desk, it has to be approved by an administrator before it's available to its intended audience.

By default, techs can create and edit unapproved FAQs. Notice that when I uncheck “FAQ Edit”, the “Approved FAQ Edit” and “Import FAQs” options disappear. My junior tech role is created for interns who are still learning, so I don't want them creating FAQs yet. So I'll remove this ability by unchecking “FAQ Edit”.

Consider leaving this option enabled for your senior techs. This way, they can create FAQ’s from a ticket note or under the FAQ tab across the top of the page. By default, an approved FAQ can only be edited by an administrator, but can also be assigned explicitly to subject matter experts (like senior techs) by checking “Approved FAQ Edit”.  

I’m fine with junior techs being able to View Techs & Groups, View Reports and Set their Vacation Status, so I’ll leave those checked.

I’m happy with my configuration, so I'll click “Save” at the bottom of the page.

Now, if you look at the top of the page of Junior Techs permissions, you'll notice that I now have an “Assigned Techs” tab.

If I click on it, I can see all of the techs who I can assign to this permissions set. Techs with Account Type “Admin” will never show up here. Account type can be changed in each Techs individual account settings. 

I’ll select the names of the junior techs and click Save.

Now, when I return to the Tech Permissions tab, I can see my new Junior tech permission set up, with the names of my Junior Techs assigned to it.

 

 

Last modified

Tags

Classifications

Public