Submit a ticketCall us

WebinarUpcoming Webinar: Know What’s Changed – with NEW Server Configuration Monitor

Change management in IT is critical. But, even with a good change management process, changes are too often not correctly tracked, if at all. The configuration of your servers and applications is a key factor in their performance, availability, and security. Many incidents can be tracked back to an authorized (and sometimes unauthorized) configuration change, whether to a system file, configuration file, or Windows® Registry entry. Join SolarWinds VP of product management Brandon Shopp to discover how the new SolarWinds® Server Configuration Monitor is designed to help you.

Register now.

Home > Success Center > Web Help Desk (WHD) > WHD - Knowledgebase Articles > Users listed with [D] against account are unable to view ticket history

Users listed with [D] against account are unable to view ticket history

Updated March 14, 2017

Overview

Users listed with a [D] against their account names and are unable to view their ticket history.

The following was found on the remote session:

  • WHD was configured to sync accounts based on email address rather than username,
  • WHD was configured to delete AD accounts which has been removed (technically accounts which we can't locate any more),
  • There was an update to AD where email address domain has been changed for all users.


This caused WHD to drop all users and create new accounts based on the email address.

You want to link tickets linked to deleted client accounts to new accounts. Attempted to use "Merge Duplicate Clients" utility, however, this did not resolve the issue. The tool stopped after the first 3 records and did not merge any accounts.

Environment

WHD 12.3

Cause 

The [D] denotes a deleted user account. WHD can be configured to delete [D] users when clients are removed from the LDAP directory. See the Importing Active Directory/LDAP Directory Connections section of the Admin Guide for more details.

Resolution

See the Merge duplicate clients in bulk article for more information on the resolution of this issue.

To prevent this issue::

  1. Change the option in AD sync to take "No action" when account is removed from AD.
  2. Use "username" to sync with AD instead of email.

 

Last modified

Tags

Classifications

Public