Submit a ticketCall us

Looking to compare latest NPM features with previous versions of NPM?
The NPM new feature summary offers a comparison of new features and improvements offered with this release.

 

 

 

 

Home > Success Center > Virtualization Manager (VMAN) > Error: The virtualization manager primary license could not be validated

Error: The virtualization manager primary license could not be validated

Created by Miroslav Beno, last modified by Karen Valdellon on Apr 19, 2017

Views: 967 Votes: 1 Revisions: 9

Overview

This article provides brief information and steps to resolve the following error:

The virtualization manager primary license could not be validated

 

The primary license is installed and activated on a VMan virtual appliance, and the secondary license is installed and activated on the Orion server. 

The License Manager view from Orion > IVIM shows License Type Secondary and 64 allowed sockets. 

The Virtualization console shows the primary license, however with an error suggesting 7 days to fix it:

Virtualization Manager Primary License Problem

Your virtual environment is not being monitored by Orion because your Virtualization Manager primary license could not be validated for more than 7 days.

To solve the issue, apply your primary license either to Virtualization Manager or to Orion.

Environment

All VMan versions

Cause 

The issue occurs when there is a potential version mismatch. 

Resolution

Verify that you have compatible versions:

NPM console:  You will find the version at the bottom of the screen.  It should be 11.5.2 and IVIM version 2.1.
VMan console: Go to Setup > License. The version should be 6.3.

 

If the versions match:

1. Go to your NPM server.

2. Disable any firewalls or antivirus applications.

3. Open ports 17777 and 17778. This will enable the NPM server to reach the VMan server and verify licenses. 

4. Disable any proxy for communication with VMan.

 

Disable integration and reintegrate

1. Go to Settings > Virtualization settings > Set up VMan integration > Disable integration.

2. Allow a few minutes for the system to refresh.

3. Reintegrate.

This will reintegrate connections. You will not lose any data.

 

 

Last modified
21:54, 18 Apr 2017

Tags

Classifications

Public