Submit a ticketCall us

WebinarWebinar: A checklist for planning your Network Performance Monitor (NPM) upgrade

Are you ready for your next upgrade? To help you plan smoothly, join this webcast to learn more about, SolarWinds® Orion® Installer, SolarWinds Upgrade Advisor, Upgrades Guides, Training Videos, and other resources available. We’ll share key upgrade planning considerations, lessons learned from customers with practical advice from SolarWinds Product Experts. We’ll also give practical tips to identify the estimated time needed and resources, how to prepare the business and IT staff for changes, ways to plan for required system changes, and more.

Register now.

Home > Success Center > User Device Tracker (UDT) > UDT - Knowledgebase Articles > UDT Whitelist rule changes to different type after submission or reboot

UDT Whitelist rule changes to different type after submission or reboot

Updated: 11/3/17

Overview

This article describes a known issue that can happen in UDT when a Whitelist rule is created as one Custom Type, and is changed to a different Type at a later date. The Taret reverts to the original after submission or reboot.

 

Example:
The IP Address rule TestRule is created:

2017-11-02_1628.png

 

This shows up as the following in Manage Whitelist:

2017-11-02_1630_001.png

 

Now, edit the rule again and change it to a MAC address rule with an inserted MAC like so:

2017-11-02_1631.png

 

Once  the rule is saved and you go to Manage rules, you'll see that it still shows the Target as it did before:

2017-11-02_1632.png

You can see that the date has changed, but the Target remains as IPAddress. If you then edit the rule, you will see the following:

2017-11-02_1633.png

Environment

  • UDT 3.2.4 and higher

Cause 

This is a known bug within UDT. The setting is retained until the rule is removed.

 

Resolution

To resolve the issue, you need to delete the original rule and create a replacement rule with the new type.

 

 

 

 

Last modified

Tags

Classifications

Public