Submit a ticketCall us

Announcing NCM 7.7
With NCM 7.7, you can examine the rules that make up an access control list for a Cisco ASA device. Then you can apply filters to display only rules that meet the specified criteria, order the rules by line number or by the hit count, and much more.
See new features and improvements.

Home > Success Center > Storage Manager (STM) > SRM Profiler Administrator Guide > Use groups > Create, edit, and delete groups

Create, edit, and delete groups

Updated: June 16, 2017

Create a new group

  1. Click Settings on the SRM Profiler website, and then select the Device Groups link under Device Management.
  2. Click Add Group on the Groups.
  3. Type the name of the new group in the Group Name field.
  4. Select from the available categories:
  • Backup Client: All backup clients, including monitored and unmonitored devices (a monitored device has an agent, an unmonitored device does not), not assigned to another group. Backup Clients can belong to multiple groups.
  • SAN: This function allows you to group SAN into logical groups for monitoring.
  • Servers & NAS: All OS and NAS devices defined on the Devices page. A device can belong to one or more groups.
  • Storage - Volume: All volumes (file systems) from all OS and NAS devices not assigned to another group. This allows you to associate volumes into logical collections of storage independent of the device it resides (Note each volume in the assignment window shows the device name and volume name). This allows for easy chargeback reports as they show storage allocation and usage summaries per group. These groups are also used in the Management reports to show allocated and used space per group. Volumes & file systems can be assigned to more than one group.
  • User: All the users defined in SRM Profiler. Administrators are always a member of every group. This function is done in the background automatically. If you remove an administrator from a group and then save it, SRM Profiler will add it back automatically. Users can belong to one or more groups.
  • Storage - Qtree This function allows you to group Storage Qtrees into logical groups for monitoring and chargeback.
  • SAN Switch - Ports: This function allows you to group SAN Switch Ports into logical groups for monitoring.
  • Storage - LUN This function allows you to group Storage LUNs into logical groups for monitoring and chargeback.
  • VMware VM This function allows you to group VMware VMs into logical groups for monitoring.
  • VMware ESX This function allows you to group VMware ESX into logical groups for monitoring.

User will have access only to the file system/shares/Qtrees in the group assigned to him.

  1. To save the new group click Save. The group list will reappear with the new group in the list.
  2. To cancel creation of the new group, click the Cancel. The group list will reappear.
  3. To assign an object to a group, click the object in the Available box and click the down arrow and it will move the object to the Selected box (and vice versa).
  4. To assign multiple objects, CTRL-click multiple objects in the Available box. The double arrows will move all Available objects into the selected box (and vice versa).

If your lists of objects are long, you can filter for the items you want to find by using the Filter by Regular Expression box.

You can filter by the beginning letter by clicking it, or you can enter you own regular expression to find the object you are looking for.

Create a new subgroup

There are only two levels of groups for backup clients.

A subgroup cannot be a super group. Enter a name for the subgroup.

  1. Click Add Sub Groups on the Groups screen.
  2. Choose the super group for this subgroup.
  3. To assign a backup client to the group, select backup clients on Available box and click the arrow to move it to the Selected box. To remove a backup client from a group, select backup clients on the Selected box and click the arrow to move it to the Available box. Same applies for the Users section.
  4. To save the new subgroup click Save. The group list reappears with the new group added.
  5. To cancel creation of the new subgroup, click Cancel. The group list reappears.

Edit and delete a group

The following options are available for editing groups:

  • Group Name: Name of group
  • ChargeBack: Customer charges for resources used.
  • Group Description: Give description of the group
  • Click on a category to add or remove Objects: Allows user to add or remove resources from groups

To delete a Group, click the Delete icon from the Group list.

 
Last modified
11:17, 26 Jun 2017

Tags

Classifications

Public