Submit a ticketCall us

AnnouncementsAre You “Flying Blind?”

When it comes to your complex IT infrastructure, you want to ensure you have a good grasp of what’s going on to avoid any fire drills that result from guesswork. Read our white paper to learn how proactively monitoring your IT environment can help your organization while giving you peace of mind.

Get your free white paper.

Home > Success Center > Server & Application Monitor (SAM) > SAM - Knowledgebase Articles > WinRM/WinRS connection limitations

WinRM/WinRS connection limitations

Table of contents

Overview

In organizations with numerous Administrators who perform remote management of their Exchange environment, or have multiple monitoring solutions connecting to the environment, Windows Remote Management/Remote Shell (WinRM/WinRS) connection limitations can become an obstacle. By default, Microsoft Server limits the number of concurrent users connected to the WinRM/WinRS session to five and the number of shells per user to five. Fortunately, this can be modified fairly easily using an elevated command prompt.

 

Also, this configuration change would be applicable when the following error is received:

 

Error Connecting to remote server failed with the following error message: The WS-Management service cannot process the request. This user is allowed a maximum number of 5 concurrent shells, which has been exceeded. Close existing shells or raise the quota for this user. 

Environment

All SAM versions

Steps

  1. Open the command prompt in Run As Administrator context.
  2. Type winrm get winrm/config/winrs to get your current configuration.

 

If you need to increase the limit of any of these settings, it can also be done using the winrm command.

To change the number of concurrent users and shells per user, use the following commands:

winrm set winrm/config/winrs @{MaxConcurrentUsers="20"}
winrm set winrm/config/winrs @{MaxShellsPerUser="20"}
winrm set winrm/config/winrs @{MaxMemoryPerShellMB="512"}

 

Note: This command must be executed on the system you are connecting to remotely using WinRM/WinRS. Once applied this setting is permanent until changed by an administrator.

Last modified

Tags

Classifications

Public