Submit a ticketCall us

WebinarWebinar: A checklist for planning your Network Performance Monitor (NPM) upgrade

Are you ready for your next upgrade? To help you plan smoothly, join this webcast to learn more about, SolarWinds® Orion® Installer, SolarWinds Upgrade Advisor, Upgrades Guides, Training Videos, and other resources available. We’ll share key upgrade planning considerations, lessons learned from customers with practical advice from SolarWinds Product Experts. We’ll also give practical tips to identify the estimated time needed and resources, how to prepare the business and IT staff for changes, ways to plan for required system changes, and more.

Register now.

Home > Success Center > Server & Application Monitor (SAM) > SAM - Knowledgebase Articles > Unused server still exists in the domain

Unused server still exists in the domain

Overview

This article provides brief information and steps to resolve the issue when Applnsight for Exchange shows an error with unused server being part of the domain. 

Environment

All SAM versions

Resolution

Remove the ghost server. 


To remove the Exchange server from Active Directory & ESM, follow these steps:

  1. Navigate to Start > Programs >Microsoft Exchange, and then click System Manager.
  2. Expand Administrative Groups > Your_Administrative _Group_Name/Servers.
  3. Right-click the name of the Exchange server that you want to remove.
  4. Click All Tasks, and then click Remove Server.

 

If you are not able to remove the Exchange server from ESM with the above steps, remove it with help of ADSIEdit.msc

Note: Install Windows support tools to get ADSIEdit.

  1. Navigate to Start > Runand enter ADSIEdit.msc and then click OK.
  2. Expand each of the following items:

Configuration Container
CN=Configuration, DC=Domain_Name,DC=com
CN=Services
CN=Microsoft Exchange
CN=Your_Organization_Name
CN=Administrative Groups
CN=Your_Administrative_Group_Name_Or_Exchange5.5_Site_Name
CN=Servers

     3.  Right-click the Exchange 2003 server object, and then click Delete.
     4.  Click Yes in every
adsiedit dialog box that prompts you to confirm the deletion.

 

Last modified

Tags

Classifications

Public