Submit a ticketCall us

Looking to compare latest NPM features with previous versions of NPM?
The NPM new feature summary offers a comparison of new features and improvements offered with this release.

 

 

 

 

Home > Success Center > Serv-U Managed File Transfer & Serv-U FTP Server > Serv-U Web Client Getting Started Guide > Use the Web Client > Manage files

Manage files

Created by Anthony.Rinaldi, last modified by Anthony.Rinaldi on Jul 20, 2016

Views: 121 Votes: 0 Revisions: 2

The majority of the view of the Web Client is dedicated towards displaying the contents of the current directory being browsed on the server. This directory listing shows all the files and folders contained in the current directory. Depending on the access rights granted to your user account by the administrator, you can perform various actions on the files and folders in this listing.

Upload files

If your user account has permission to upload new files, you can upload a single file at a time to the server using this button. Click Upload to open a new window from which you can browse your system for the file you want to upload. After you have selected the appropriate file, click Upload to begin the transfer.

When the upload has started, a progress dialog is displayed that is regularly updated with live information, including the current transfer rate, how much data has been sent, how much data remains to be sent, and the estimated time until completion of the transfer. While a file is being uploaded, no other action can be taken including changing the current directory or transferring another file. You can terminate the transfer at any time by clicking Cancel. Canceled file transfers cannot be resumed and must be started over.

After the upload has completed, the progress dialog disappears and the directory listing is refreshed to show the new file.

Download files

To begin a file download, select the file you want to download, and then click Download. This option is also available by right-clicking the file you want to download. The browser prompts you for a location on your system to save the file. Some browsers may also offer the option to open the file instead of saving it to a permanent location. While a file is being downloaded, the Web Client is free to perform other actions.

Rename files

To rename a file, select the file you want to rename in the directory listing, and then click Rename under More Actions. This option is also available by right-clicking the file you want to rename. The current name is displayed in a new dialog. Change this name to the new name, and then click OK. If your user account does not have the permission to rename files or there is a conflict with the new file name, an error message is displayed.

Delete files

To delete a file, select the file from the listing, and then click Delete. This option is also available by right-clicking the file you want to delete. If your user account does not have the permission to delete files, an error message is displayed.

Files are permanently deleted from the server. This action cannot be undone.

Last modified
13:17, 20 Jul 2016

Tags

Classifications

Public