Submit a ticketCall us

Looking to compare latest NPM features with previous versions of NPM?
The NPM new feature summary offers a comparison of new features and improvements offered with this release.

 

Home > Success Center > Serv-U Managed File Transfer & Serv-U FTP Server > Serv-U Web Client Getting Started Guide > Use the Web Client > Manage directories

Manage directories

Created by Anthony.Rinaldi, last modified by Anthony.Rinaldi on Jul 20, 2016

Views: 6 Votes: 0 Revisions: 2

The majority of the view of the Web Client is dedicated towards displaying the contents of the current directory being browsed on the server. This directory listing shows all the files and folders contained in the current directory. Depending on the access rights granted to your user account by the administrator, you can perform various actions on the files and folders in this listing.

Navigate directories

Changing the current directory updates the contents of the directory listing.

To change the current directory, use one of the following methods:

  • Double-click a directory in the listing.
  • Right-click a directory, and then click Open.
  • Select a directory in the listing, and then click Open in the toolbar above the listing.

Navigate to the parent directory

If your user account is locked in your home directory and the current directory is your home directory, this button is not available. Click the button to change the current directory to the parent directory. For example, if your current directory is /public/files, clicking the button changes the current directory to /public.

Create new directories

To create new directories on the server, click New Directory, and then specify the name of the new directory. If your user account does not have the permission to create directories, or there is a conflict with the new directory name, an error message is displayed.

Delete directories

To delete a directory, select the directory from the listing, and then click Delete. This option is also available by right-clicking the directory you want to delete. If your user account does not have the permission to delete directories, an error message is displayed.

Deleting a directory deletes all files and folders that are contained in the directory. This action cannot be undone on the server.

Rename directories

To rename a directory, select the directory you want to rename in the directory listing, and then click Rename under More Actions. This option is also available by right-clicking the directory you want to rename. The current name is displayed in a new dialog. Change this name to the new name, and then click OK. If your user account does not have the permission to rename directories, or there is a conflict with the new directory name, an error message is displayed.

Refresh the current directory

Refreshing the current directory listing causes the Web Client to retrieve the directory listing again and update the displayed files and folders.

Thumbnails

Click Thumbnails to change the view from a detailed view to a thumbnails view. While in thumbnails view, the Web Client retrieves and displays small versions of any image files in the current directory. When in thumbnail view, an additional menu is available where you can change the size of thumbnails that are displayed. For more information about thumbnails, see Thumbnails, slideshows, and the media player. Click this button again to return the view to the default Details mode.

Folder favorites

To add folders to the Favorites list, select a folder in the directory listing, and then click Add to Favorites under More Actions. This option is also available by right-clicking a folder, and then selecting Add to Favorites.

Last modified
13:19, 20 Jul 2016

Tags

Classifications

Public