Submit a ticketCall us
Home > Success Center > Serv-U Managed File Transfer & Serv-U FTP Server > Serv-U File Server Administrator Guide > User groups > Group limits and settings

Group limits and settings

Table of contents
No headers
Created by Anthony.Rinaldi_ret, last modified by Anthony.Rinaldi_ret on Jul 20, 2016

Views: 8 Votes: 0 Revisions: 2

Serv-U contains options which you can use to customize how Serv-U can be used, and which also provide ways to apply limits and custom settings to users, groups, domains, and the server in its entirety. The limits stack intelligently, with user settings overriding group settings, group settings overriding domain settings, and domain settings overriding server settings. In addition, you can configure limits so that they are only applied during certain days of the week, or certain times of the day. You can also grant exceptions to administrators and restrict specific users more than others, providing total control over the server.

The Limits and Settings in Serv-U are divided into the following categories:

  • Connection
  • Password
  • Directory Listing
  • Data Transfer
  • HTTP
  • Email
  • File Sharing
  • Advanced

To apply a limit, select the appropriate category, click Add, select the limit, and then select or enter the value. For example, to disable the Lock users in home directory option for a domain, perform the following steps:

  • Select Domain > Domain Limits & Settings from the Serv-U Management Console.
  • Select Directory Listing from the Limit Type list.
  • Click Add.
  • Select Lock users in home directory from the Limit list.
  • Deselect the option.
  • Click Save.

The limits list displays the current limits applied to the domain. Limits with a light-blue background are default values. Limits with a white background are values that override the defaults. After you complete the previous steps, a new Lock users in home directory limit appears in the list that displays "No" as the value. Because of inheritance rules, this option applies to all users in the domain unless it is overridden at the group or user level. For more information about this method of inheritance, see User interface conventions.

You can delete limits by selecting them and clicking Delete. To edit an overridden value, select the limit, and then click Edit. Default rules cannot be edited or deleted. Create a new limit to override a default one.

To create a limit that is restricted to a specific time of day or days of the week, click Advanced in the New Limit or Edit Limit window. Select Apply limit only at this time of day to specify a start and stop time for the new limit. To restrict the limit to certain days of the week, deselect the days for which you do not want to apply the limit. When a limit is restricted in this way, default values (or the value of other limit overrides) are applied when the time of day or day of the week restrictions are not met for this limit.

Last modified
11:03, 20 Jul 2016

Tags

Classifications

Public