Submit a ticketCall us

Looking to compare latest NPM features with previous versions of NPM?
The NPM new feature summary offers a comparison of new features and improvements offered with this release.

 

Home > Success Center > Serv-U Managed File Transfer & Serv-U FTP Server > Serv-U File Server Administrator Guide > Domain overview

Domain overview

Table of contents
Created by Anthony.Rinaldi, last modified by Anthony.Rinaldi on Jul 20, 2016

Views: 3 Votes: 0 Revisions: 3

At the core of the Serv-U File Server is the Serv-U domain. At the most basic level, a Serv-U domain is a set of user accounts and listeners that allow users to connect to the server to access files and folders. Serv-U domains can also be configured further to restrict access based on IP address, limit bandwidth usage, enforce transfer quotas, and more. Virtually every setting available at the server level can be overridden for each individual domain. With careful advanced planning, you can specify an acceptable level of default options at the server level to minimize the amount of configuration required for a domain.

Serv-U supports any number of domains on the file server. Domains can share listeners, or they can each be hosted on a unique IP address if the system has multiple IP addresses. However, the maximum number of domains that can be created on an installation is dictated by the license. For more information about the different editions of Serv-U, see Serv-U editions.

When you run a new installation of the Serv-U File Server for the first time, you are prompted to create your first domain using the New Domain Wizard. Follow the instructions on each page of the wizard to create your first domain. For more information about creating domains, see the Quick start guide.

Manage domains

The domain that you currently manage is always displayed in the header of each page next to the + (New Domain) button. To change the active domain, click the domain name in the accordion menu on the left, and then select one of the available options.

If it is supported by your license, you can create new domains at any time by clicking + (New Domain) in the Management Console. After you change the active domain, the current page is automatically reloaded to reflect the settings of the new active domain.

To delete a domain and all of its users and groups, navigate to Domain > Domain Details, and then click Delete Domain.

This action cannot be undone.

Last modified
10:36, 20 Jul 2016

Tags

Classifications

Public