Submit a ticketCall us

AnnouncementsAre You “Flying Blind?”

When it comes to your complex IT infrastructure, you want to ensure you have a good grasp of what’s going on to avoid any fire drills that result from guesswork. Read our white paper to learn how proactively monitoring your IT environment can help your organization while giving you peace of mind.

Get your free white paper.

Home > Success Center > Serv-U Managed File Transfer & Serv-U FTP Server > Serv-U - Knowledgebase Articles > Serv-U crashed, lost configuration and data

Serv-U crashed, lost configuration and data

Table of contents

Updated October 16, 2017

Overview

This a common problem when you reboot the server machine while Serv-U is running.

Environment

  • All versions of MFT and FTP server

 

While Serv-U is running, it makes frequent updates to a configuration file (Serv-U.archive) regularly. If you reboot your server while the configuration file is being updated, this file will be broken and will be removed. Before each write to a configuration file, Serv-U creates a backup of the current configuration, then deletes the original one, re-creating a new updated file. The same rule applies to a user's configuration file. Basically, each domain user has its own configuration file (UserName.Archive). If a domain user is logged in during the reboot, this user's configuration file may be lost as well.

 

A similar issue may occur not only during a reboot of the server, but also when a 3rd party software, such as anti-virus software, blocks access to a configuration file. Also, Serv-U's configuration folder should be excluded from DFS-R, if you are using this feature.

 

To avoid this issue, ensure that Serv-U is correctly turned off and exited before powering off the server. Regular backups can also help secure any information that could be lost. Scheduling updates to not automatically reboot the server when Serv-U is running can also help avoid loss of configuration data.

 

 

 

Last modified

Tags

Classifications

Public