Submit a ticketCall us

AnnouncementsChange Is Inevitable

Get valuable help when it comes to tracking and monitoring changes. SolarWinds® Server Configuration Monitor (SCM) is designed to help you: detect, track, and receive alerts when changes occur, correlate system performance against configuration changes, compare server and application configuration against custom baselines, and verify application and system changes.

Learn more.

Home > Success Center > Orion Platform > Orion - Knowledgebase Articles > Orion alert: Node polling failed on last 5 tries

Orion alert: Node polling failed on last 5 tries

Created by Jane Baylon, last modified by Jane Baylon on Jan 23, 2018

Views: 2,460 Votes: 1 Revisions: 7

Overview

The following alert keeps on appearing on the Orion Web Console:

Node polling failed on last 5 tries

Environment

All Orion versions

Cause 

This occurs when the SQL Server where the database is hosted and Orion server do not have "the same time" which means while converting local (servers') time to the UTC they are different.

 

For example:

  • Correct setup
    • SQL Server - 11:48 AM UTC+3 = 8:48 AM UTC
    • Orion server - 11:48 AM UTC+3 = 8:48 AM UTC
       
  • Incorrect setup 1
    • SQL Server - 4:48 AM UTC+2 = 2:48 AM UTC
    • Orion server - 4:48 AM UTC+3 = 1:48 AM UTC

 

  • Incorrect setup 2
    • SQL Server - 3:48 AM UTC+2 = 1:48 AM UTC
    • Orion server - 4:48 AM UTC+3 = 1:48 AM UTC

Resolution

Make sure to use time reference, for example, the NTP server, to synchronize time on servers to the universal source. See How to Synchronize Microsoft Windows to a NTP server.

Last modified

Tags

Classifications

Public