Submit a ticketCall us

Announcing NCM 7.7
With NCM 7.7, you can examine the rules that make up an access control list for a Cisco ASA device. Then you can apply filters to display only rules that meet the specified criteria, order the rules by line number or by the hit count, and much more.
See new features and improvements.

Home > Success Center > Network Topology Mapper (NTM) > Network Topology Mapper (NTM) Documentation > NTM Administrator Guide > Show and hide neighbors

Show and hide neighbors

Table of contents
No headers

Updated: April 10, 2017

All maps relate to a specific discovery scan file. For nodes on a specific map, based on all the discovered nodes in the scan file, NTM indicates that there are unseen neighbors that connect to a given node.

File:Success_Center/Reusable_content_-_InfoDev/NTM/Show_and_hide_neighbors/showing_and_hiding_neighbors_67x64.jpg

Clicking the Neighbors icon inset at the top right on a node, or right-clicking the node and selecting Add Neighbors, shows all nodes to which the selected node is connected. In many cases, the neighboring node is a network segment node. For detailed information about Network Segments, see Opening Maps from Earlier Versions of NTM.

In discovering your network based on your selections in the Discovery Wizard, and if there are more than 100 discovered nodes, NTM automatically shows all switches and routers on a default map (“Map1”). Use the Neighbors icon on these network devices to reveal more connections on the default map, as needed. Before revealing neighbors of device, if you want to know how many neighbors are currently hidden, hold the mouse over the device to see a summary that includes Hidden Neighbors.

As you increase the detail on the default map, consider selecting and copying sections of the map to a new map (File > New Map). This new map, along with any others you make based on the single scan file, will always appear in its own tab when you open the relevant scan file.

You can hide neighbors from a map either by undoing the action of revealing them (Edit > Undo) or simply by deleting them (right-click > Delete node). Nodes deleted from a map remain in the scan file and can be re-added to the same map or to any other map at any time.

Last modified
06:35, 10 Apr 2017

Tags

Classifications

Public