Submit a ticketCall us

Have You Auto Renewed? If not, you're missing out.
The SolarWinds Renewal Program comes with a host of benefits including the most recent product updates, 24/7 technical support, virtual instructor-led training and more. Experience all of this with the convenience of Auto Renewal, and never worry about missing any of these great benefits. Learn More.

Home > Success Center > Network Performance Monitor (NPM) > Orion alert: Node polling failed on last 5 tries

Orion alert: Node polling failed on last 5 tries

Created by Jane Baylon, last modified by Brian O'Donovan on May 12, 2017

Views: 339 Votes: 1 Revisions: 6

Overview

The following alert keeps on appearing on the Orion Web Console:

Node polling failed on last 5 tries

Environment

All Orion versions

Cause 

This occurs when the SQL Server where the database is hosted and Orion server do not have "the same time" which means while converting local (servers') time to the UTC they are different.

 

For example:

  • Ccorrect setup
    • SQL Server - 11:48 AM UTC+3 = 8:48 AM UTC
    • Orion server - 11:48 AM UTC+3 = 8:48 AM UTC
       
  • Incorrect setup 1
    • SQL Server - 4:48 AM UTC+2 = 2:48 AM UTC
    • Orion server - 4:48 AM UTC+3 = 1:48 AM UTC

 

  • Incorrect setup 2
    • SQL Server - 3:48 AM UTC+2 = 1:48 AM UTC
    • Orion server - 4:48 AM UTC+3 = 1:48 AM UTC

Resolution

Make sure to use time reference, for example the NTP server, to synchronize time on servers to the universal source. See How to Synchronize Microsoft Windows to a NTP server.

Last modified

Tags

Classifications

Public