Submit a ticketCall us

WebinarWebinar: A checklist for planning your Network Performance Monitor (NPM) upgrade

Are you ready for your next upgrade? To help you plan smoothly, join this webcast to learn more about, SolarWinds® Orion® Installer, SolarWinds Upgrade Advisor, Upgrades Guides, Training Videos, and other resources available. We’ll share key upgrade planning considerations, lessons learned from customers with practical advice from SolarWinds Product Experts. We’ll also give practical tips to identify the estimated time needed and resources, how to prepare the business and IT staff for changes, ways to plan for required system changes, and more.

Register now.

Home > Success Center > Network Performance Monitor (NPM) > NPM - Knowledgebase Articles > Overriding Global thresholds for Memory Used

Overriding Global thresholds for Memory Used

Updated December 18, 2017

Overview

When you adjust the thresholds for Memory Used for Hosts in Virtualization tabs in the Top 10 VMware Hosts, the thresholds don't stay set:

 

Disk used (1).jpg

 

The bar on the right side is based on the Global Threshold values.

The Status icon on the left side is based on the overridden threshold values for Warning and Critical. The colors above don't match because the overridden thresholds are set to higher values for Warning and Critical.

 

The Top 10 xx resource uses only general thresholds and does not consider overridden values for specific hosts. It makes sense if you consider the resource displays hosts in a data center and it orders it by memory percent usage.

Environment

  • NPM 12.1

Cause

When you enable Override Global Orion Threshold for Memory Usage, this doesn't work for under Virtualization - Hosts. It will reset.

 

For Cluster it will work.

Overriding Global threshold for a Host 1.PNG

 

These follow the Global Memory threshold values set in:

Global Percent Mmeory Used settings 1.PNG

 

Resolution

Adjusting general thresholds should fix the issue.

Wait until the thresholds cache expires, or open the page in a new session/incognito mode/different browser (or reset the IIS).

 

 

 

 

Last modified

Tags

Classifications

Public