Submit a ticketCall us

Have You Auto Renewed? If not, you're missing out.
The SolarWinds Renewal Program comes with a host of benefits including the most recent product updates, 24/7 technical support, virtual instructor-led training and more. Experience all of this with the convenience of Auto Renewal, and never worry about missing any of these great benefits. Learn More.

Home > Success Center > Network Performance Monitor (NPM) > Change the Node Discovery options

Change the Node Discovery options

Table of contents

Updated April 11, 2017

Overview

This article provides steps to change Node Discovery settings such as monitoring Virtualization, Credentials, Interfaces, Volumes, and Applications after an initial discovery is completed. 

Environment

  • All NPM versions
  • All SAM versions

Steps

  1. From the Orion Web Console, click Settings > Network Discovery.  
  2. Locate and select the target discovery, and then click Edit.
  3. Click Next until you get to the SNMP Credentials.
    Use the SNMP Credentials page to add or change credentials for SNMP, and then click Next.
  4. Use the Windows Credentials to add or change credentials for WMI, and then click Next. 
  5. Select the corresponding radio button to manually or automatically set up monitoring. 
    Manual Monitoring: Nodes are added but you must list the resources or attach a node to a template through Manage Applications. 
    Automatic Monitoring: Selected items, when present on the node are immediately set up for monitoring once added by discovery.
  6. If the Automatic Monitoring option is selected, click Define Monitoring Settings to change the Interface, Volume, Memory and Application monitoring. Click Finish, and then click Next.
  7. Go to the Discovery Settings page if you need to change the node discovery settings such as the duration or number of tries during the discovery. Click Next.
  8. The frequency of the network discovery can also be changed. If you want to run the discovery now, click Discover. If you want to run the discovery later, click Save and then select the No, don't run now option.
  9. The changes made will take effect on the next discovery.

 

Last modified

Tags

Classifications

Public