Submit a ticketCall us

whitepaperYour VM Perplexities Called, and They Need You to Read This.

Virtualization can give you enormous flexibility with future workloads and can be a key enabler for other areas, like cloud computing and disaster recovery. So, how can you get a handle on the performance challenges in your virtual environment and manage deployments without erasing the potential upside? Learn the four key areas you need to be focusing on to help deliver a healthy and well-performing data center.

Get your free white paper.

Home > Success Center > Network Configuration Manager (NCM) > NCM Documentation > NCM 7.9 Administrator Guide > Approval system for device configuration changes > Turn on approval system

Turn on approval system

Created by Caroline Juszczak, last modified by Anthony.Rinaldi_ret on Oct 03, 2016

Views: 590 Votes: 0 Revisions: 4

After setting up the configuration change approval system in NCM, you need to enable the system to send approval notifications and process acknowledgments. The approval system can be disabled at any time.

Enable config change approval

When you enable the change approval system, SolarWinds NCM prevents the system from executing device uploads until an NCM administrator has approved the scheduled job.

The default setting is to allow any NCM user with the WebUploader role or higher to make and push a device configuration change with no approval necessary. Enabling the Change Approval System without changing the default setting is the same as not enabling the system at all. Review the default settings and user roles and make adjustments as necessary before enabling the approval system.

  1. Click Settings > All Settings.
  2. Under Product Specific Settings, click NCM Settings.
  3. Under Config Management Change Approval, click Enable Approval System.
  4. Click Enable.

Disable config change approval

When you disable the system, SolarWinds NCM processes device configuration changes normally, either as scheduled or immediately, depending on the actions of the relevant team member with the WebUploader account privileges.

  1. Click Settings > All Settings.
  2. Under Product Specific Settings, click NCM Settings.
  3. Under Config Management Change Approval, click Disable Approval System.

 

Last modified

Tags

Classifications

Public