Submit a ticketCall us

AnnouncementsChange Is Inevitable

Get valuable help when it comes to tracking and monitoring changes. SolarWinds® Server Configuration Monitor (SCM) is designed to help you: detect, track, and receive alerts when changes occur, correlate system performance against configuration changes, compare server and application configuration against custom baselines, and verify application and system changes.

Learn more.

Home > Success Center > Network Configuration Manager (NCM) > NCM Documentation > NCM 7.8 Administrator Guide > Compare configuration files

Compare configuration files

Table of contents
No headers
Created by Caroline Juszczak, last modified by Anthony.Rinaldi_ret on Oct 03, 2016

Views: 855 Votes: 2 Revisions: 5

Updated: May 31, 2018

SolarWinds NCM can compare configuration files between two nodes or different versions of configs on the same node. Use NCM to:

  • Compare running and startup configs to detect changes that were made to the in-memory config but were not permanently saved  to non-volatile memory (NVRAM). These changes will be lost if the device loses power or is rebooted. 
  • In a multi-vendor environment, compare configs from different vendors for reference purposes.
  • Compare different versions of the same config to quickly see what changed. 
  • Compare the configs on different nodes to ensure they match.

To avoid flagging inconsequential changes (such as the last updated date), you can specify lines or blocks to exclude from comparisons.

  1. Click My Dashboards > Configs > Configuration Management.
  2. Select the nodes:
    • To compare configs from two different nodes, select both nodes.
    • To compare two configs from the same node, select a single node.
  3. Click Compare Node(s) Configs, and then select Compare node(s) configs from the drop-down menu.
  4. Select the configs you want to compare.

    The Compare Node(s) Config window displays the configs next to each other.

  5. Review the configs for changes (yellow), added lines (green), and missing lines (red).
  6. Click Edit Config for either config if you need to make changes.
  7. Click Set/Clear Baseline on either config to make it the baseline. NCM uses the baseline to alert you to future config changes.
  8. If a config is obsolete and should be removed, click Delete Config.
  9. Click Close.

 

Last modified

Tags

Classifications

Public