Submit a ticketCall us

Get a crash course on Network Monitoring delivered right to your inbox
This free 7-day email course provides a primer to the philosophy, theory, and fundamental concepts involved in IT monitoring. Lessons will explain not only how to perform various monitoring tasks, but why and when you should use them. Sign up now.

Home > Success Center > Network Configuration Manager (NCM) > NCM 7.6 Administrator Guide > What is a baseline?

What is a baseline?

Created by Caroline Juszczak, last modified by Anthony.Rinaldi_ret on Oct 04, 2016

Views: 65 Votes: 1 Revisions: 5

A baseline is a configuration file that is known to be good for a particular application. It is important to establish a baseline when making node configuration changes.

Use a baseline to compare future downloads against.

Set a baseline

  1. Click My Dashboards > Configs > Configuration Management.
  2. Click a node.
  3. Click Configs on the left.
  4. Under Config List, select the config, and click Set/Clear Baseline.

If you do not have administrator privileges you may not be able to see some nodes. Your account must have the WebUploader role to upload configs.

Resetting a baseline does not regenerate cache data, so there may be a delay before the chart displays the most current data. Downloading a config resets cache data, however.

When downloading new configuration files, select Compare to Last Baseline Config in the Download Config window to automatically compare the new configuration file to the baseline. If no baseline is found, the configuration is compared against the previously downloaded configuration file.

Remove a config file as a baseline

  1. Click My Dashboards > Configs > Configuration Management.
  2. Click a node.
  3. Click Configs on the left.
  4. Under Config List, select the current baseline.
  5. Click Set/Clear Baseline.

If you do not have administrator privileges you may not be able to see some nodes. Your account must have the WebUploader role to upload configs.

Baseline your entire network

A full inventory scan can take anywhere from a few minutes to several hours to complete. The time period varies based on the number of nodes and the type of statistics you want to collect. For more information on how to establish what statistics are collected, see Adjust inventory settings.

  1. Click My Dashboards > Configs > Jobs.
  2. Click Create New Job.
  3. Name the job and select Baseline Entire Network from Job Type.
  4. Select the Schedule Type. If you are creating an Advanced schedule, use the five fields to create an appropriate cron expression.
  5. Add a comment if this job relates to a business rule, and click Next.
  6. On the Choose Nodes tab, click Next.
  7. Select an email notification option, and click Next. If you click Email Results, the default settings are populated. These settings can be overridden in each job.
  8. Select one of the following options:
    • Set the Network Baseline to the Last Config Downloaded from Each Node
    • Set the Network Baseline to a Specific Date
  9. Click Next.
  10. Review the settings for the job, and click Finish.

Clear all baselines to reset the comparison point for config changes

  1. Click My Dashboards > Configs > Jobs.
  2. Click Create New Job.
  3. Name the job, and select Baseline Entire Network from Job Type.
  4. Select the Schedule Type. If you are creating an Advanced schedule, use the five fields to create an appropriate cron expression.
  5. Add a comment if this job relates to a business rule, and click Next.
  6. On the Choose Nodes tab, click Next.
  7. Select an email notification option, and click Next. If you click Email Results, the default settings are populated. These settings can be overridden in each job.
  8. Click Clear All Baselines, and click Next.
  9. Review the settings for the job, and click Finish.

 

Last modified
13:54, 4 Oct 2016

Tags

Classifications

Public