Submit a ticketCall us
Home > Success Center > Network Configuration Manager (NCM) > NCM - Knowledgebase Articles > Manage NCM nodes

Manage NCM nodes

Created by Jeared Bon, last modified by Alexis Pasao on Sep 20, 2018

Views: 3,090 Votes: 8 Revisions: 16

Updated: September 20, 2018

Overview

This article provides steps on how to add, adjust or edit NCM nodes. 

Environment

All NCM versions

Steps

Note: Removing a node from NCM would remove all data associated with the node, including configurations and inventory.

To add the group of nodes to NCM

  1. Open the NCM Web Console. 
  2. Go to Settings > Nodes > Manage Nodes. 
  3. Select a desired grouping in the left pane, or select No Grouping. 
  4. Click More Actions > Add Nodes to NCM. 

 

To adjust the NCM status of a specific node

  1. Open the NCM Web Console. 
  2. Select a desired grouping in the left pane, or select No Grouping. 
  3. Select the node, and then click Edit Properties.
  4. Select the node under Search Nodes, and then click Manage Node. 
  5. Scroll down to the property Manage node(s) with NCM.
    1. Select No if you currently do not want the node managed with NCM. It can be added to NCM later through discovery.
    2. Select Never if you never want the node managed by NCM. It will never be added to NCM through discovery.
    3. Select Yes if you want to manage the node with NCM. The NCM Properties are listed with their current values. 
  6. Adjust any values as needed and then click Submit.

 

Note: View the NCM-Licensed column to review the node status.

 

To edit the properties of an NCM node

  1. Open the NCM Web Console. 
  2. Select a group from the left pane, or select No Grouping. 
  3. Select a node, and then click Edit Properties. 
  4. Scroll down to the property Manage node (s) with NCM. 
    1. Select No if you currently do not want the node managed with NCM. It can be added to NCM later through discovery.
    2. Select Never if you never want the node managed by NCM. It will never be added to NCM through discovery.
    3. Select Yes if you want to manage the node with NCM. The NCM Properties are listed with their current values.
  5. Adjust other values as needed, and then click Submit.

Suggested tags :

 

 

Reason for Rework or Feedback from Technical Content Review:   

-- EES -- from a customer:

 

 

Sent: Tuesday, November 29, 2016 9:49 AM
To: Ratings Feedback <ratings_feedback@solarwinds.com>
Subject: feedback - https://support.solarwinds.com/Succe...nage_NCM_nodes

 

This article gives three options for managing NCM nodes:

 

  • Select NO, if you do not want the node managed with NCM.
  • Select Never, if you never want the node managed by NCM.
  • Select Yes, if you want to manage the node with NCM. The NCM Properties are listed with their current values. 

 

The difference between No and Never is unclear.  Does “No” mean I don’t want to manage the node right now but I might want to later.  Does “Never” mean that I don’t want to manage the node and can never change my mind.  I would appreciate a description on the difference on these two selections.

 

Thanks,

 

 

MH (verified with Ihor):

  • Select No, if you do not want the node managed with NCM, it can be later added to NCM through discovery.
  • Select Never, if you never want the node managed by NCM, it will never be added to NCM through discovery

Never mean it will be never re-added to NCM during rediscovery

No, mean it can be readded

Last modified

Tags

Classifications

Public