Submit a ticketCall us

Have You Auto Renewed? If not, you're missing out.
The SolarWinds Renewal Program comes with a host of benefits including the most recent product updates, 24/7 technical support, virtual instructor-led training and more. Experience all of this with the convenience of Auto Renewal, and never worry about missing any of these great benefits. Learn More.

Home > Success Center > Log & Event Manager (LEM) > Syslog Severity levels

Syslog Severity levels

Table of contents
Created by Craig O’ Neill, last modified by Aileen de Lara_ret on Sep 02, 2016

Views: 3,589 Votes: 1 Revisions: 4


This article describes the severity levels for Syslog.


  • All NPM versions
  • All LEM versions
  • All Kiwi Syslog versions


The meaning of severity levels other than emergency and debugging are relative to the application.

For example, if the purpose of the system is to process transactions to update customer account balance information, an error in the final step should be assigned the alert level. However, an error occurring in an attempt to display the zip code of the customer may be assigned an error or even a warning level.

The server process which handles the message (syslogd) usually includes all lower levels. That is, if messages are separated by individual severity, a warning entry will be included in notice, info and debug processing.


Severity level

Value Severity Keyword Description Examples
0 Emergency emerg System is unusable This level should not be used by applications.
1 Alert alert Should be corrected immediately Loss of the primary ISP connection.
2 Critical crit Critical conditions A failure in the system's primary application.
3 Error err Error conditions An application has exceeded its file storage limit and attempts to write are failing.
4 Warning warning May indicate that an error will occur if action is not taken. A non-root file system has only 2GB remaining.
5 Notice notice Events that are unusual, but not error conditions.  
6 Informational info Normal operational messages that require no action. An application has started, paused or ended successfully.
7 Debug debug Information useful to developers for debugging the application.  

NOTE: Unless compliance demands it, levels 5, 6 and 7 are not required and will consume unnecessary resources.



Last modified