Submit a ticketCall us

AnnouncementsFace your biggest database issues head-on

Our new eCourse helps you navigate SQL Server performance blocks by teaching you how to recognize and deal with the three DBA Disruptors: Performance Hog, Blame Shifter, and Query Blocker. Register today to learn how to defend your environment and fend off menacing disruptions.

Register for your free eCourse.

Home > Success Center > Log & Event Manager (LEM) > LEM - Knowledgebase Articles > Syslog Severity levels

Syslog Severity levels

Table of contents
Created by Craig O’ Neill, last modified by Aileen de Lara_ret on Sep 02, 2016

Views: 12,866 Votes: 1 Revisions: 4


This article describes the severity levels for Syslog.


  • All NPM versions
  • All LEM versions
  • All Kiwi Syslog versions


The meaning of severity levels other than emergency and debugging are relative to the application.

For example, if the purpose of the system is to process transactions to update customer account balance information, an error in the final step should be assigned the alert level. However, an error occurring in an attempt to display the zip code of the customer may be assigned an error or even a warning level.

The server process which handles the message (syslogd) usually includes all lower levels. That is, if messages are separated by individual severity, a warning entry will be included in notice, info and debug processing.


Severity level

Value Severity Keyword Description Examples
0 Emergency emerg System is unusable This level should not be used by applications.
1 Alert alert Should be corrected immediately Loss of the primary ISP connection.
2 Critical crit Critical conditions A failure in the system's primary application.
3 Error err Error conditions An application has exceeded its file storage limit and attempts to write are failing.
4 Warning warning May indicate that an error will occur if action is not taken. A non-root file system has only 2GB remaining.
5 Notice notice Events that are unusual, but not error conditions.  
6 Informational info Normal operational messages that require no action. An application has started, paused or ended successfully.
7 Debug debug Information useful to developers for debugging the application.  

NOTE: Unless compliance demands it, levels 5, 6 and 7 are not required and will consume unnecessary resources.



Last modified