Submit a ticketCall us

WebinarWebinar: A checklist for planning your Network Performance Monitor (NPM) upgrade

Are you ready for your next upgrade? To help you plan smoothly, join this webcast to learn more about, SolarWinds® Orion® Installer, SolarWinds Upgrade Advisor, Upgrades Guides, Training Videos, and other resources available. We’ll share key upgrade planning considerations, lessons learned from customers with practical advice from SolarWinds Product Experts. We’ll also give practical tips to identify the estimated time needed and resources, how to prepare the business and IT staff for changes, ways to plan for required system changes, and more.

Register now.

Home > Success Center > IP Address Manager (IPAM) > IPAM - Knowledgebase Articles > Disable auto-update of comments in IPAM

Disable auto-update of comments in IPAM

Table of contents

Updated December 5, 2016

Overview

This article provides steps on how to disable auto-update of comments every time IPAM scans the subnet.

Environment

All IPAM versions

Steps

1. On the Manage Subnets and IP addresses page, click the subnet that you want to disable auto-update of comments.

2. Click Edit on the upper-left corner of the page. A Edit Subnet Properties window prompts after this.

3. Scroll down to get to Automatic Scanning section then choose Update but not erase manually entered data. See attached image for reference.

 

Choosing this option prevents the application from deleting any data fill out in the Comment field. However, the difficulty lies when there are thousand of subnets to be updated with the same scenario above. Use this query below to update the database setting of your subnets.

 

USE [SolarWindsOrion];

UPDATE IPAM_Group
SET RetainUserData = 1 
WHERE GroupType = 8

 

Note: Replace [SolarWindsOrion] with the name of your Orion database.

 

****PLEASE NOTE****

Please note that the updating of this setting does not in any way protect any data within the IP fields if the IP is placed into an Available state. The Available status will always wipe clean any and all comments and information manually inserted into an IP. This is intended and by design for the product for licensing purposes.

 

Last modified

Tags

Classifications

Public