Submit a ticketCall us

Get a crash course on Network Monitoring delivered right to your inbox
This free 7-day email course provides a primer to the philosophy, theory, and fundamental concepts involved in IT monitoring. Lessons will explain not only how to perform various monitoring tasks, but why and when you should use them. Sign up now.

Home > Success Center > Enterprise Operations Console (EOC) > Update EOC Map after re-adding the Orion server

Update EOC Map after re-adding the Orion server

Table of contents
Created by Mariusz Handke, last modified by MindTouch on Jun 23, 2016

Views: 26 Votes: 0 Revisions: 5

Overview

This article describes how to modify the existing EOC Map which, after re-adding the Orion server, has objects showing as Unknown (icons showing grey). Objects are referenced in the format OrionID|ObjectID and adjusting the OrionID with the new value corrects reference to the actual object.

Environment

All EOC versions

Steps

  1. Log in to the EOC server.
  2. Open Network Atlas.
  3. Open the map in question.
  4. Identify the sequence (OrionID) to be changed by hovering on the objects showing as Unknown and checking in the tooltip the information about the object.
  5. Export the map to a text file (go to Menu > Export > Export Map).
  6. Open the exported map in the text editor.
  7. Replace OldOrionID| with NewOrionID|:
    1. Ensure that you have pipe character when searching and replacing.
    2. There are few ways of finding the NewOrionID:
      • Go to EOC Webconsole > SolarWinds Servers, hover over the server in question, and find the ID in the link.
      • Go to EOC Webconsole > Settings > Manage SolarWinds Servers, select the server in question, click Edit and note the ID in the address bar of the browser
  8. Save the text file.
  9. Go back to the Network Atlas and open the modified map file.
  10. Select all objects (Ctrl-A) in the opened map and copy (Ctrl-C).
  11. Go to the old map, select all objects, and delete them.
  12. Paste the objects copied from modified map (Ctrl-V).
  13. Save the old map.
  14. Close the modified map without saving it.
Last modified
19:26, 22 Jun 2016

Tags

Classifications

Public