Submit a ticketCall us

Get a crash course on Network Monitoring delivered right to your inbox
This free 7-day email course provides a primer to the philosophy, theory, and fundamental concepts involved in IT monitoring. Lessons will explain not only how to perform various monitoring tasks, but why and when you should use them. Sign up now.

Home > Success Center > Engineer's ToolSet (ETS) > Engineer's Toolset Administrator Guide > Utilities > Deactivate and reactivate License Manager

Deactivate and reactivate License Manager

Table of contents
Created by Aileen de Lara_ret, last modified by Aileen de Lara_ret on Jan 10, 2017

Views: 152 Votes: 1 Revisions: 3

To move your SolarWinds product to another server, deactivate the current license from the computer and reactivate it on the server with a new installation.
Note: Toolset must be under an active maintenance.

  1. Log in to the computer where the currently licensed SolarWinds product is installed.
  2. Start the License Manager in the SolarWinds program folder.
  3. Select the products to deactivate on this computer, and then click Deactivate.
    • You can deactivate more than one product at the same time. In this case, the deactivation file contains information about each product.
    • In certain products, you can deactivate licenses by using the internal licensing tool of the product.
  4. Complete the Deactivation wizard, and then save the deactivation file.
  5. Log in to the SolarWinds Customer Portal, and then go to the License Management page.
  6. Select your product instance, and then click Deactivate License Manually.
  7. In the Manage License Deactivation page, locate the deactivation file you created in License Manager, and then click Upload.

The deactivated licenses are now available to activate on a new computer.

The new License Manager tool has offline deactivation with a created file that can be uploaded to the Customer Portal.

Reactivate license

Log in to the computer where you want to install your products, and then start the installation.

The license you deactivated earlier is assigned to the new installation.

 

 
Last modified
19:08, 9 Jan 2017

Tags

Classifications

Public