Submit a ticketCall us

Get a crash course on Network Monitoring delivered right to your inbox
This free 7-day email course provides a primer to the philosophy, theory, and fundamental concepts involved in IT monitoring. Lessons will explain not only how to perform various monitoring tasks, but why and when you should use them. Sign up now.

Home > Success Center > DameWare Remote Support & Mini Remote Control > Disable Shared Secret keys

Disable Shared Secret keys

Table of contents

Updated November 21, 2016

Overview

This is a guide on how to disable Shared Secret keys on Dameware MRC.

Environment

Dameware Mini Remote Control v12

Steps

Option 1: Reinstall client service agent

  1. See the Install and remove the Dameware Client Agent service article.
  2. In step 4 of the installation process, click Session.
  3. Make sure that the Use Shared Secret option is not selected.


Option 2: If you still have access to the machine:

  1. Remote to the target machine.
  2. Right click the MRC tray icon > click Settings.
  3. Click Session.
  4. Deselect the Use Shared Secret option.
  5. Click OK in the next 2 options and then wait until the service agent is reconfigured.
  6. Try to remote again without Shared Secret keys.

 

Last modified
15:39, 20 Nov 2016

Tags

Classifications

Public