Submit a ticketCall us

Have You Auto Renewed? If not, you're missing out.
The SolarWinds Renewal Program comes with a host of benefits including the most recent product updates, 24/7 technical support, virtual instructor-led training and more. Experience all of this with the convenience of Auto Renewal, and never worry about missing any of these great benefits. Learn More.

Home > Success Center > DameWare Remote Support & Mini Remote Control > Dameware Administrator Guide > Manage the Saved Host List

Manage the Saved Host List

Updated: September 19, 2017

Each time a technician uses Mini Remote Control to connect with an end user internal to the network, the end user's computer is automatically saved to the Saved Host List. A saved host includes the IP address and credentials of the computer with which the technician wants to connect. Saved hosts reduce the time and potential for error involved in typing end user credentials each time a technician attempts to make a connection.

Disable saved hosts

Hosts are automatically saved to the Saved Host List. You can disable this setting.

  1. Open Dameware Mini Remote Control.
  2. From the menu, click Edit > Disable Auto Save.

Back up and restore the Saved Host List

SolarWinds recommends that you periodically back up the Saved Host List to a JSON file. You can import the backed up file if Mini Remote Control ever needs to be reinstalled, or if you move from one computer to another computer.

To back up the saved host list:

  1. Open Mini Remote Control.
  2. Click the Saved Host List folder.
  3. Select File > Export > To JSON File.
  4. Enter a name, and click Save.

To restore the Saved Host List:

  1. Open the Mini Remote Control application.
  2. Click the Saved Host List folder.
  3. Select File > Import > From JSON File.
  4. Browse to and select the file, and click OK.

    The Saved Host List populates with the backed up list.

Learn more

Last modified

Tags

Classifications

Public