Submit a ticketCall us

Get a crash course on Network Monitoring delivered right to your inbox
This free 7-day email course provides a primer to the philosophy, theory, and fundamental concepts involved in IT monitoring. Lessons will explain not only how to perform various monitoring tasks, but why and when you should use them. Sign up now.

Home > Success Center > DameWare Remote Support & Mini Remote Control > DameWare Remote Support User Guide > Remote system tasks and views > Replication view

Replication view

Created by Anthony.Rinaldi_ret, last modified by Anthony.Rinaldi_ret on Jul 12, 2016

Views: 8 Votes: 0 Revisions: 2

If you open the Replication view for a computer that does not support it, Remote Support returns an error.

The DameWare Remote Support Replication view allows you to manage replication on remote systems running older versions of Windows. You can manage both import and export directories in one window interface. The Replication view displays the following sortable columns in their respective panes:

Import Directory pane

  • Import Directory

  • State

  • Last Update

  • Lock Count

  • Lock Time

  • Exporter

Export Directory pane

  • Export Directory

  • Stabilize

  • Subtree

  • Lock Count

  • Lock Time

The Export Directory window pane will be enabled only for systems running a server version.

Windows replication overview

Directory replication is the copying of a master set of directories from a server (called an export server) to specified servers or workstations (called import computers) in the same or other domains. Replication simplifies the task of maintaining identical sets of directories and files on multiple computers because only a single master copy of the data must be maintained. Files are replicated when they are added to an exported directory and every time a change is saved to the file.

Export server

To temporarily stop exporting a subdirectory, select the subdirectory and then click Add lock to the selected directory in the Replication view mini toolbar. To resume exporting a locked subdirectory, select the subdirectory and then click Remove lock from the selected directory. To export a subdirectory and all of the subdirectories in its' tree, select the subdirectory and then select Entire Subtree. Or, to export only the highest subdirectory in a tree, select the subdirectory and then select Entire Subtree to unselect. To specify a two-minute or longer delay during which no changes can be made before files are exported, select a subdirectory and then select the Wait Until Stabilized option. To export files immediately after they are changed, select a subdirectory and then select Wait Until Stabilized option to unselect.

Notes:

  • Usually, you should only remove locks that you have applied. Exporting resumes only when the Locks column shows a value of 0 for the subdirectory.

  • Select the Add Replication Entry option to add a subdirectory to the list. Select Delete Replication option to remove the selected subdirectory from the list.

  • If it does not already exist, the system creates the share REPL$ which is required for export replication. If it is not already running, the system starts the Directory Replicator service.

  • Only Windows Server computers can be set up as replication export servers.

  • Make sure an appropriate logon account has been assigned to the Directory Replicator service before performing this procedure.

  • The directories to be exported must be subdirectories of the replication From Path. You can add the files to be exported to these subdirectories. However, this is optional. Once you set up replication any files later added to these subdirectories will be exported automatically. You can also later add additional subdirectories to the From Path.

  • By default, the To List contains no entries and this computer automatically exports to the local domain. However, if you add any entries to the To List, the computer will no longer automatically export to the local domain. To then export to the local domain, the domain name must explicitly be added to the To List.

Import computer

To temporarily stop importing to a subdirectory, select the subdirectory and then click Add lock to the selected directory in the Replication view mini toolbar. To resume exporting a locked subdirectory, select the subdirectory and then click Remove lock from the selected directory.

Notes:

  • Make sure an appropriate logon account has been assigned to the Directory Replicator service before performing the procedure.

  • By default, the From List contains no entries and this computer automatically imports from the local domain. However, if you add any entries to the From List the computer will no longer automatically import from the local domain. To then import from the local domain, the computer name must explicitly be added to the From List.

Last modified
14:57, 12 Jul 2016

Tags

Classifications

Public