Submit a ticketCall us

Quickly Address Software Vulnerabilities
Patch Manager is an intuitive patch management software which extends the capabilities of WSUS and SCCM to not only patch Windows® servers and workstations, and Microsoft® applications, but also other 3rd-party applications which are commonly exploited by hackers. Learn more about our patch management solution.

 

Home > Success Center > DameWare Remote Support & Mini Remote Control > DMRC prompt: Waiting for Client to Accept Connection

DMRC prompt: Waiting for Client to Accept Connection

Table of contents
Created by Marlo Bidayan, last modified by MindTouch on Jun 23, 2016

Views: 218 Votes: 0 Revisions: 3

Overview

This article explains why the following prompt appears when trying to establish a remote connection:

Waiting for Client to accept connection....

Environment

All DameWare Mini Remote Control versions

Detail

This occurs when either of the following is enabled in the MRC Client Agent Service on the remote machine:

  • Additional Settings > Permission Required - The user currently logged in to the remote machine will be prompted to grant or deny permission for every connection attempt of either an Administrator or Non-Administrator.
  • Access > Permission Required for these Account Types - The user currently logged in to the remote machine will be prompted to grant or deny permission for every connection attempt of Non-Administrators.

In version 6.9 of the software, it is now possible for a user with Non-Administrator rights to connect to a remote machine without explicit permission.  This new functionality was implemented in a way that maintains the cooperation of our software with the Operating System security of the remote machine, but provides a configurable option within the MRC client agent service to allow this type of connection.  Administrator rights are still required to install, start, stop, remove, upgrade, or downgrade the service as well as to modify the settings of the service once it is installed on a remote machine.

When a connection is established in Non-Administrator Mode, the Notify Dialog box will be displayed on the remote machine with the words, "Non-Administrator Mode" and cannot be closed. 

  • Admin Only Mode - Non-administrators will require permission
  • Non-Admin Mode - Non-administrators will not require permission
  • Permission Required Mode - Everyone requires permission

Notes:

  • The Permission Required setting on the Additional Settings tab of the MRC Client Agent Service settings overrides the Permission Required for these Account Types setting.  This setting applies to Administrators as well as Non-Administrators.
  • The Disconnect if at Logon Desktop setting and the View Only for these Account Types setting also apply (if enabled) regardless of the Permission Required for These Account Types setting.

 

 

 

 

Last modified
19:02, 22 Jun 2016

Tags

Classifications

Public